Independent Research · Unvarnished Reviews

Ramp vs. Brex vs. SAP Concur: The Capital One Acquisition Question

Based on verified user data No vendor spin

Key Findings: Ramp, Brex, and SAP Concur all control company spending and expense reporting, but they start from different places. Ramp and Brex are corporate cards with spend management built in, while SAP Concur is expense and travel software for organizations that already run a card program, usually alongside SAP ERP.

The development that matters most is ownership: Capital One completed its $5.15 billion acquisition of Brex on April 7, 2026, so Brex's roadmap and future pricing now depend on a bank's integration plan. Ramp meanwhile announced a $44 billion valuation in June 2026.

On price, Ramp Plus lists at $12 per user per month on annual billing or $15 monthly and Brex Premium at $12 monthly, both $7,200 a year for 50 users. SAP Concur does not publish prices, and third-party figures put 50 users anywhere from $7,200-$10,800 a year (per-user list) to $54,000 (per-report model), before travel fees and $10,000-$100,000+ integration.

Download PDF Report →

Full report with pricing tables, hidden-cost breakdown, and decision framework.

Ramp vs. Brex vs. SAP Concur: The Capital One Acquisition Question

Market Position: Big Picture

Ramp, Brex, and SAP Concur solve overlapping problems from three different starting points. Ramp and Brex pair corporate cards with built-in spend management, expense automation, and increasingly full finance-operations platforms. SAP Concur approaches from the opposite direction: expense reporting and travel management for organizations that already have a card program, most commonly inherited as part of a broader SAP ERP decision. The single biggest development reshaping this comparison in 2026 is not a feature, it is ownership: Capital One completed its acquisition of Brex on April 7, 2026, for $5.15 billion, turning a venture-backed fintech challenger into a subsidiary of a traditional bank. Existing Brex accounts keep working, but product direction and pricing are both open questions during integration, a live variable for anyone mid-evaluation.

Separately, Ramp announced a $44 billion valuation on June 4, 2026, citing more than $1 billion in annualized revenue, with Bloomberg reporting on October 9, 2026 that a new round at roughly $60 billion is under discussion (unconfirmed by Ramp). Growth is driven substantially by Stack, its AI-native accounting automation product now used by 92 of the top 100 CPA firms. SAP Concur has the largest review count, rated 4.0 out of 5 across more than 6,400 user reviews, but its pricing, custom quotes with travel fees layered on top, is the most opaque and fee-stacked of the three.

Platform Ratings at a Glance

PlatformG2 RatingReviewsTrustpilotMarket Segment
SAP Concur4.0 / 56,470No listing locatedEnterprise (55.3%)
Ramp4.8 / 5Large, growing sampleNo listing locatedSMB and mid-market
Brex4.8 / 51,510No listing located; some Trustpilot reviewers report unexpected account closuresVenture-backed / global

SAP Concur's larger review count reflects two decades of enterprise incumbency, not necessarily higher satisfaction; both Ramp and Brex post higher average ratings despite far shorter track records, consistent with practitioner complaints about Concur's dated interface, discussed below.

Ramp: Published Pricing and the AI-Native Accounting Push

Ramp and Brex both publish tiered pricing, a meaningful contrast against SAP Concur's quote-only model. Ramp's structure: a $0 free tier, a Ramp Plus tier at $15 per user per month billed monthly or $12 billed annually, and custom Enterprise pricing. Ramp's core pitch is savings automation and spend control enforced before money leaves the account, paired with bill pay, procurement, and increasingly full accounting automation through Stack, its AI accounting agent now adopted by 92 of the top 100 CPA firms according to industry reporting from June 2026.

The documented cost gap not visible in the headline $0-$15 pricing: A third-party tracker notes that Plus carries a team-size-based platform fee Ramp does not disclose, and card access requires at least $75,000 in a US bank account. In addition, nonprofit organizations report, in user accounts this report could not independently confirm, Ramp adding platform fees at renewal in the $5,000 to $10,000 range, particularly for organizations running 15 or more active cards. Ramp's underlying credit model was built for venture-backed, cash-on-hand startups, and nonprofit and grant-funded organizations evaluating the platform should confirm renewal-year pricing in writing before assuming the free-tier economics hold indefinitely.

Brex: Global Card Issuance, Now Under a Bank's Ownership

Brex's differentiators remain: Brex states that it offers local card issuance across more than 50 countries and VAT documentation across many markets, which matter for travel-heavy, venture-backed teams. Rewards terms vary by card, and one third-party tracker lists 1.5% cash back on all cards, so confirm current rewards in writing. Brex has historically been the stronger fit for global, funded startups with meaningful international spend.

Brex publishes tiered pricing on its website: Essentials at $0/user/month, Premium at $12/user/month on monthly billing (annual pricing is not published), equal to Ramp Plus on annual billing, and custom Enterprise pricing for global organizations needing unlimited entities and local card issuance. The development that changes the calculus for any organization evaluating Brex today: Capital One completed its $5.15 billion acquisition of Brex on April 7, 2026. Existing accounts continue operating at the published rates, but independent industry coverage notes that product direction and future pricing may shift during integration, and a founder or finance leader picking Brex now is making a bet on a roadmap that may move toward enterprise-bank priorities under new ownership, not the venture-backed positioning that built Brex's reputation. Brex's underlying credit model was also built for venture-backed startups with cash reserves, a poor fit for nonprofit, grant-funded, or bootstrapped organizations regardless of the acquisition. Third-party trackers also list minimum-balance and minimum-spend requirements for Brex cards, so confirm eligibility before applying.

SAP Concur: The Enterprise Incumbent With the Most Fees Layered on Top

SAP Concur remains the default for large enterprises with an existing SAP ERP relationship, offering deep native integration and multi-jurisdictional tax compliance that neither Ramp nor Brex replicates. SAP Concur publishes no prices. Third-party buyer guides describe usage-based pricing starting around $7 per report for the Base tier and $11 for the Plus tier on smaller accounts, with a practical average near $9 per report, while Vendr's marketplace data lists Expense Standard at $8-$12 and Expense Professional at $12-$18 per active user per month, negotiated to $10-$16 at 200-1,000 users, with contract minimums often above $50,000 a year. Which basis applies depends on the contract, so ask for both.

The costs the headline number doesn't show: Third-party buyer guides report that Concur Travel charges separately per booking, $15 to $25 per air transaction, $8 to $15 per hotel transaction, and $5 to $10 per car rental, on top of any agency or GDS fees. Concur Invoice is priced separately again, $2 to $8 per invoice depending on volume. Integration costs for connecting Concur to existing ERP systems run $10,000 to over $100,000 depending on complexity, and premium support tiers or a dedicated customer success manager can add 10%-20% to the annual contract. Users consistently describe the interface as dated and multi-step workflows as requiring admin intervention to complete, and independent buyer guides document reviewers reporting surprise fees for support calls and itinerary changes.

What Users and Reviewers Report

Ramp: The Upside

It publishes tiered pricing, from a $0 free tier to Plus at $12 per user per month billed annually, and it pairs savings automation and spend control with bill pay, procurement and AI accounting through Stack.

It rates 4.8 out of 5 and has the lowest switching effort for small US teams.

Ramp: The Downside

Plus carries a team-size-based platform fee that is not disclosed, and card access requires at least $75,000 in a US bank account.

Nonprofits report renewal fees of $5,000 to $10,000 a year for 15 or more cards, which this report could not independently confirm.

Brex: The Upside

It offers local card issuance across more than 50 countries and VAT documentation across many markets, which suits travel-heavy, venture-backed teams.

It rates 4.8 out of 5 on 1,510 reviews, and its Premium tier matches Ramp Plus at $12 per user per month.

Brex: The Downside

Capital One completed its $5.15 billion acquisition on April 7, 2026, so product direction and future pricing are open questions during integration.

Third-party trackers list minimum balance and spend requirements, and some reviewers report unexpected account closures.

SAP Concur: The Upside

It is the default for large enterprises on SAP ERP, with deep native integration and multi-jurisdictional tax compliance that neither Ramp nor Brex replicates.

It has by far the largest review base, 6,470 reviews.

SAP Concur: The Downside

It publishes no prices, travel and invoice fees stack on the per-report or per-user fee, and ERP integration runs $10,000 to over $100,000.

Users describe the interface as dated and multi-step workflows as needing administrator help, and it rates the lowest of the three at 4.0 out of 5.

Pricing (October 2026)

PlatformPublished PricingTypical Real-World Cost
Ramp$0 free tier; Plus $15/user/month monthly or $12 annual; Enterprise customPlus an undisclosed team-size platform fee, and user-reported nonprofit renewal fees of $5,000-$10,000 a year for 15+ cards (unconfirmed)
Brex$0 Essentials; Premium $12/user/month; Enterprise customMatches Ramp Plus on annual billing; Enterprise is custom and a third-party tracker estimates $5,000-$10,000 a month (unsourced); future pricing uncertain after the Capital One acquisition
SAP ConcurNo published prices; Vendr lists Expense Professional at $12-$18/user/month, buyer guides cite ~$7-$11/reportThird-party figures of ~$9/report, plus per-transaction travel fees, minimums often above $50,000 a year, and $10,000-$100,000+ integration

Costs the Pricing Table Misses

TCO Comparison: 50-Person Company, 500 Reports/Month

Modeled scenario: a 50-person company processing roughly 500 expense reports per month, using the published or third-party pricing above.

PlatformBasisAnnual CostThree-Year Cost
Ramp (Plus tier)$12/user/month annual billing × 50 users$7,200$21,600
Brex (Premium)$12/user/month × 50 users$7,200$21,600
SAP Concur (per-user list)$12-$18/user/month (Vendr, Expense Professional) × 50 users$7,200-$10,800$21,600-$32,400
SAP Concur (per-report model)~$9/report × 500 reports/month$54,000$162,000

At these tiers, Ramp and Brex price identically for this scenario, a notable finding given how differently the two are positioned. SAP Concur's cost depends on the contract basis: A per-user quote lands near the other two, while a per-report model scales with volume to $54,000 a year. Both exclude Concur's separate travel and invoice fees and its $10,000-$100,000+ integration cost, Ramp's undisclosed platform fee, and Brex Enterprise, which is custom-quoted. Ask Concur for both quote structures and compare.

Complexity Comparison

DimensionRampBrexSAP Concur
Setup and learning curvePublished tiers and a card-first setup; Stack adds an accounting layer to configureCard-first setup with multi-entity and ERP integrations on Premium and EnterpriseMulti-step workflows that users say need administrator intervention, and a dated interface
Administration and feesA free tier plus Plus; platform fee and bank-balance requirement to confirmTiered, with card eligibility requirements and Enterprise needed for unlimited entitiesPer-report or per-user quote, separate travel and invoice fees, and optional premium support at 10%-20% of the contract
Global and tax coverageUS-focused strength; confirm international needsLocal card issuance across 50-plus countriesMulti-jurisdictional tax compliance and deep SAP ERP integration
IntegrationAccounting automation through Stack and standard accounting integrationsERP and HRIS integrations on Premium and EnterpriseERP integration projects of $10,000-$100,000+
Migration and changeLowest switching effort for small US teamsOpen roadmap under Capital One ownershipHighest effort, because workflows are tied to SAP and travel booking

The pattern follows each design. Ramp's complexity is fee disclosure, Brex's is ownership and eligibility, and Concur's is the layering of fees and integration work on a legacy workflow.

Red Flags

Every finding below is independently documented and material enough to influence a purchasing decision.

Ramp

  • Plus carries an undisclosed platform fee. A third-party tracker says it is based on team size, and the amount is not published. Ask for it in writing.
  • Nonprofit renewal fees are user-reported. Nonprofits describe $5,000-$10,000 a year at renewal for 15 or more cards. Confirm renewal-year pricing before assuming free-tier economics hold.
  • Card access has a balance requirement. A third-party tracker lists at least $75,000 in a US bank account, which excludes cash-light teams.

Brex

  • Ownership changed on April 7, 2026. Capital One completed the $5.15 billion acquisition, and product direction and future pricing may shift during integration. Get a written renewal price.
  • Eligibility rules apply. Third-party trackers list minimum balance and spend requirements, and some Trustpilot reviewers report unexpected account closures. Confirm eligibility and closure terms.
  • Annual Premium pricing is not published. The $12 per user figure is monthly, and Enterprise is custom. Price the tier you need.

SAP Concur

  • Pricing is quote-only and fee-stacked. Per-report, per-user, and per-transaction travel and invoice fees all appear in buyer guides. Ask for both quote structures.
  • Integration costs $10,000-$100,000+. ERP connection is a separate project most buyers do not budget for.
  • The interface and workflows lag. Users call it dated and report that multi-step workflows need administrator help. Pilot with real users.

The Decision Framework

Choose Ramp if: You are a US-based team that wants published pricing, savings automation, and increasingly full AI-driven accounting automation through Stack. If you are a nonprofit, confirm renewal-year platform fees and the bank-balance requirement in writing before signing.

Choose Brex if: You are a global, venture-backed company needing local card issuance across 50-plus countries and multi-market VAT recovery, and you are comfortable evaluating a platform whose ownership changed in April 2026 and whose roadmap is an open question during Capital One's integration.

Choose SAP Concur if: You already run SAP as your core ERP and need deep native integration and multi-jurisdictional tax compliance at enterprise scale, and you are prepared to budget separately for per-transaction travel fees, invoice processing, and integration costs beyond the base per-report price.

Everyone: Get a written commitment on renewal-year pricing before signing with any of the three. Ramp's nonprofit fees, Brex's ownership transition, and Concur's fee-stacked model each turn a reasonable initial quote into a materially different real cost within twelve to twenty-four months.

Key Decision Factors

Design decides where spend control happens. Ramp and Brex put the card first and build expense, bill pay, and accounting on top, enforcing policy before money leaves the account. SAP Concur starts from expense reports and travel booking and connects to SAP ERP, which gives it tax and compliance depth and a heavier, older workflow.

Audience decides which one fits. Ramp fits US teams, Brex fits global venture-backed companies, and Concur fits large enterprises on SAP. Nonprofits and grant-funded organizations should look hard at both card models, because Ramp and Brex credit models were built for cash-on-hand startups.

Price follows the model. Ramp Plus and Brex Premium both land at $7,200 a year for 50 users at $12 per user per month, while SAP Concur ranges from about $7,200-$10,800 on a per-user quote to $54,000 on a per-report model, before travel fees and $10,000-$100,000+ of integration. The hidden costs differ: an undisclosed Ramp platform fee, Brex's post-acquisition pricing risk, and Concur's stacked fees.

The Bottom Line

Free trials and test-drives. Ramp has a Free plan at $0 per user with no time limit stated, and a free 30-day trial of Plus, which lists at $15 per user per month plus a platform fee. Brex lists Essentials at $0 per user and Premium at $12 per user per month, with Enterprise by quote. SAP Concur offers a free trial of Concur Expense, a personalized demo and self-guided demos, and prices by quote. Put real employee expense reports through each and confirm that your accounting system integration is included in the plan you would buy.