Independent Research · Unvarnished Reviews

Fivetran vs. Airbyte vs. Matillion: Three Pricing Meters, No Common Unit

Based on verified user data No vendor spin

Key Findings: Fivetran, Airbyte and Matillion all move data into a warehouse, but they do different jobs and bill in three units that cannot be converted. Fivetran bills monthly active rows (MAR) separately for each connection, Airbyte bills credits or reserved capacity, and Matillion bills credits for pipeline task hours and developer seats, with no price on its public pages. A quote from one cannot be compared to a quote from another without modeling your workload.

The market also changed: Fivetran and dbt Labs announced on June 1, 2026 that their merger is complete, so a buyer now evaluates a combined ingestion and transformation vendor.

For a 12-source scenario with 6 million changed rows a month, Fivetran Standard models to about $40,200 a year at list, and Airbyte Plus to about $2,268 using the vendor's calculator example. The two meters count different things, so the gap is a warning about metering, not a price ranking. Matillion's reported entry plans run $12,000-$24,000 a year and a Vendr median across 31 purchases is $139,000.

Download PDF Report →

Full report with pricing tables, TCO modeling, and decision framework.

Fivetran vs. Airbyte vs. Matillion: Three Pricing Meters, No Common Unit

Unvarnished Reviews Research

Market Position: The Meter Is the Product

Data integration is the plumbing between business systems and a data warehouse, and the three products here sit at different points in it. Fivetran is the managed incumbent, with more than 700 fully managed connectors and a closed codebase. Airbyte is the open-source challenger, with more than 700 built-in connectors and a self-hosted option. Matillion is a transformation and orchestration platform that also ships connectors, and it runs its work inside the customer's warehouse.

Two events changed the buying picture. Fivetran and dbt Labs announced on June 1, 2026 that their all-stock merger, first announced October 13, 2025, is complete; the combined company says it serves more than 100,000 data teams and is led by Fivetran's George Fraser. Airbyte announced Airbyte 2.0 on September 24, 2025, with an Enterprise Flex plan that keeps data in the customer's environment, and renamed its plans Core, Standard, Pro and Enterprise Flex.

The finding that should change how any of the three gets budgeted: the three vendors charge in units that do not convert. Fivetran charges per monthly active row on each connection separately. Airbyte charges credits on its Standard and Plus plans and reserved capacity, called Data Workers, on Pro and Flex. Matillion charges credits consumed by pipeline task hours and by developer users beyond those a plan includes. A competitor-published analysis says a 2025 change to per-connection billing raised Fivetran bills by 40%-70% for many teams; that figure is a competitor's estimate and is not confirmed by Fivetran, but the structure it describes matches Fivetran's page, where each connection has a separate cost curve.

What Each Platform Does

All three move data from business systems into a warehouse such as Snowflake, Databricks, BigQuery or Redshift. They differ in the job they emphasize. Fivetran and Airbyte are mainly extract-and-load tools, built around source connectors. Matillion is mainly a transformation and orchestration platform that runs SQL, Python or dbt in the warehouse and also offers connectors. The descriptions below come from the vendors' pages, so they show what the vendors say, not what independent testing found.

Fivetran

Fivetran is a managed data pipeline service. It offers more than 700 fully managed source connectors and more than 200 activation destinations, which send warehouse data back into tools such as Salesforce and HubSpot. Standard includes unlimited users, 15-minute syncs, dbt Core integration, role-based access control, a REST API and SSH tunnels. Enterprise adds 1-minute syncs, enterprise database connectors, custom roles, SCIM, a choice of cloud provider and hybrid deployment. Business Critical adds customer-managed encryption keys, PCI DSS Level 1 certification and private networking.

Fivetran's Trust Center lists SOC 1, SOC 2, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, HITRUST, PCI DSS v4.0.1, GDPR and CCPA, with detailed reports behind an access request. The Free plan includes 500,000 MAR for connections, 3,500 MAR for activations and 5,000 monthly transformation model runs, with no time limit. Since June 2026 Fivetran also includes dbt Labs, whose dbt Core v2.0 alpha open sources the Fusion engine runtime under an Apache 2.0 license.

Airbyte

Airbyte is a data movement platform whose code is public. It lists more than 700 built-in connectors, plus a Connector Builder and an AI-assisted builder for custom ones, and claims more than 35,000 community connectors. Airbyte Core is free and self-run. Standard is a managed cloud plan, Pro adds role-based access control, SSO and audit logs on capacity-based pricing, and Enterprise Flex separates a cloud-hosted control plane from a data plane that can run in the customer's environment.

Airbyte lists SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR and a HIPAA conduit, and says it does not store customer data in the Flex model. Its code is licensed under the Elastic License 2.0, with the Airbyte Protocol under MIT. Airbyte Cloud, Enterprise and Agents require a commercial license, and the Elastic License bars hosting Airbyte to sell it as a competing ELT service.

Matillion

Matillion is a data integration platform built around a visual low-code canvas, with SQL, Python and dbt available for custom steps, plus orchestration, monitoring and Git-based version control. It uses pushdown ELT, meaning it generates SQL that runs inside Snowflake, Databricks or AWS so the warehouse does the processing. It claims more than 150 pre-built connectors plus custom connectors through a REST API, and offers Maia, an AI assistant that builds transformations from plain-language prompts.

Matillion lists SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3 and ISO 27001. The Developer plan includes one developer user, Teams and Scale include five, and all plans include unlimited admin users. Scale adds custom SSO, hybrid cloud deployment, lineage, streaming change data capture and a PrivateLink add-on. Matillion cites a Forrester study it commissioned showing up to 271% return on investment, and says Gartner placed it as a Challenger in its 2025 Magic Quadrant for Data Integration Tools; both are the vendor's statements.

How the Three Differ

DimensionFivetranAirbyteMatillion
Core jobManaged extract and load, plus activation back into business toolsExtract and load, self-run or managedTransformation and orchestration in the warehouse, plus connectors
Connectors700+ managed sources; 200+ activation destinations700+ built-in; 35,000+ community connectors claimed150+ pre-built; custom connectors through a REST API
DeploymentManaged service; hybrid deployment on EnterpriseSelf-hosted Core, managed Standard, Pro, hybrid Enterprise Flex, self-managed EnterpriseManaged; hybrid cloud on Scale
Transformationsdbt Core integration; billed per successful model runNot described on the pages reviewedSQL, Python or dbt on a visual canvas, run in the warehouse
Billing unitMonthly active rows, priced per connectionCredits (Standard, Plus) or Data Workers capacity (Pro, Flex)Credits for task hours and extra developer users, sold as annual packages
Free optionFree plan: 500,000 MAR, no time limitCore is free to self-run; 14-day cloud trial with 400 creditsFree trial on each plan; Maia trial
Security listedSOC 1, SOC 2, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, HITRUST, PCI DSS, GDPR, CCPASOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA conduitSOC 1, SOC 2, SOC 3, ISO 27001
Support termsEmail support, listed 24/7 on Free; other plan terms not statedStandard: portal, no SLA. Plus: 24-hour response. Pro and Flex: 12-hour criticalDeveloper: community. Teams and Scale: standard support, SLA with annual subscription
Published pricingExamples only; no plan price listStandard from $20 a month; Plus from $189 a month; Pro and Flex by quoteNone on the vendor pricing page

The practical differences are four. Fivetran is the managed option, where the vendor runs the connectors and the buyer pays for rows. Airbyte is the option where code and deployment are visible and can be run in-house, with the buyer carrying more operational responsibility. Matillion does a different job from the other two. It is where a team builds and orchestrates transformations, and a team that needs hundreds of SaaS connectors will likely pair it with an ingestion tool. Fivetran now also owns dbt, which makes it a competitor to Matillion on the transformation side as well.

Price does not line up across them, because each prices a different unit. The sections that follow show what is published, what is reported, and what a single scenario costs.

Fivetran: The Upside

Users describe it as easy to run. The most-cited pros are ease of integration and maintenance (187 mentions), easy setup (74), easy integration with existing apps (73) and responsive support (62). Fivetran scores 9.0 on ease of setup and 8.8 on ease of administration, ahead of Matillion's 8.4 and 8.3.

It publishes the widest security list and a free tier. Fivetran lists more certifications than the other two, including HITRUST and PCI DSS, and its Free plan has no time limit. Annual contracts earn discounts from 5% up to 22% on its examples.

Fivetran: The Downside

The bill depends on a curve no page shows. Fivetran's pricing page gives no per-plan dollar price. Its worked examples, all on the Standard plan for a company of 1-200 employees, imply about $0.50 per 1,000 MAR plus a $5 base charge per connection at low volume, with the rate falling as a connection's volume rises. Each connection has a separate curve, so adding sources adds a base charge and another curve for each.

Cost and reliability are the top complaints. The most-cited cons are sync issues and unpredictable failures (60 mentions), high pricing that limits wider use (36), integration issues including schema ownership and changing connections (28), a steep learning curve (27) and pricing that reduces flexibility (24). The Vendr median for Fivetran is $48,384 a year with an average discount of 17%, but the page's purchase count is inconsistent (770 purchases in one place and 463 deals in another), so treat the median as directional.

Airbyte: The Upside

It publishes entry prices and shows the code. Standard starts at $20 a month with 5 credits included and extra credits at $5 each. Plus starts at $189 a month for 40 credits, with packages up to 2,000 credits at $4,999 a month. Core is free to run, and the code is public, so a team can inspect or self-host it.

Users rate it well and praise its range. Ease of use (43 mentions), connector variety (26), a clean interface (15) and quick setup (12) lead the pros. The vendor says its 2.0 release raised MySQL-to-S3 throughput from 23 MB/s to 110 MB/s, a figure from Airbyte that was not independently tested.

Airbyte: The Downside

The cheapest plan has no service commitment. Standard support is a portal with no SLA, syncs run at most hourly, and the 15-minute interval and a 24-hour response begin at Plus. Pro and Flex are capacity-priced by quote, and the price of a Data Worker is not published.

Reviewers flag documentation and connector maturity. The top cons are poor documentation (8 mentions), difficult setup that often needs the data team (7), unclear error reporting (6), expense for small companies with large volumes (5) and limited connectors, some still in alpha (5). The review base is small, about 79 reviews, so the patterns are thin evidence. The Elastic License is described by Airbyte as open source; it restricts hosting Airbyte as a competing service, so confirm the license fits your use.

Matillion: The Upside

It does the transformation work inside your warehouse. Pushdown ELT means the warehouse does the processing, and a team can build in a visual canvas or write SQL, Python or dbt. All plans include unlimited admin users, and billing counts task hours only when a pipeline runs, not during validation or sampling.

Users rate it highly on a modest base. The Maia listing shows 4.5 of 5 across 134 reviews. Users cite ease of use (9 mentions), automation (4), an intuitive interface (4) and a simple design (4).

Matillion: The Downside

No public price and the smallest connector set. The vendor's pricing page lists three plans and no dollar amounts, and buyers go to sales. It claims about 150 pre-built connectors against more than 700 for the other two, so SaaS ingestion usually needs a second tool.

Reviewers cite limits and growing cost. The top cons are feature limitations (9 mentions), performance limitations including Jython-related slowdowns and single-thread constraints (4), cloud dependency with added cost at scale (3), cost that grows quickly with data volume (3) and limited API options for exporting raw data (2). The listing shows implementation of about 3 months.

Platform Ratings at a Glance

PlatformG2 RatingReviews (G2)TrustpilotNote
Fivetran4.3 / 5851Not independently confirmed at time of publicationLargest review base; ease of setup scores 9.0
Airbyte4.4 / 579Not independently confirmed at time of publicationSmall base; listing shows about 2 months to implement
Matillion (Maia)4.5 / 5134Not independently confirmed at time of publicationHighest rating of the three; listing shows about 3 months to implement

All three rate within 0.2 points of each other, so the ratings do not separate them. Fivetran's 851 reviews make its 4.3 the most reliable figure, while Airbyte's 79 and Matillion's 134 are small samples. Review counts differ by a few reviews between G2 pages, so the figures are approximate.

Pricing (October 2026)

Fivetran and Airbyte publish rates for some plans; Fivetran gives examples rather than a plan price list, and Airbyte's Pro and Enterprise Flex are quote-only. Matillion's pricing page lists no dollar amounts, so every Matillion figure below is reported by third parties and unconfirmed by Matillion.

PlatformEntry TierMid TierTop TierPricing Model
FivetranFree: 500,000 MAR for connections, no time limitStandard: about $0.50 per 1,000 MAR plus a $5 base per connection at low volume (implied by examples)Enterprise and Business Critical: quote; Enterprise License Agreements offer a fixed annual priceMonthly active rows, each connection on a separate curve; transformations $0.01-$0.002 per successful model run above 5,000; annual contracts save 5%-22%
AirbyteCore: free, self-run. Standard: from $20 a month, 5 credits includedPlus: $189 a month for 40 credits, up to $4,999 for 2,000; extra credits $5Pro and Enterprise Flex: custom, capacity-based (Data Workers)Credits (Standard, Plus) or reserved capacity; 14-day trial with 400 credits
MatillionDeveloper: reported about $1,000 a monthTeams: reported about $2,000 a monthScale: reported to start around $100,000 a yearCredits for task hours and extra developer users, sold in annual packages; reported $2-$4.40 per credit

Vendr data puts the median Fivetran contract at $48,384 a year and the median Matillion contract at $139,000 a year across 31 purchases, a sample the source calls directional. Matillion's per-credit rate is not published; the reported $2-$4.40 range comes from forum posts and review sites. Ask each vendor to state the unit, the rate and what happens when you exceed the commitment.

TCO Comparison: 12 Sources, About 6 Million Changed Rows a Month, One Year

The scenario is a company with 12 source connections averaging 500,000 changed rows each, or 6 million a month, and 40,000 transformation model runs a month. It excludes warehouse compute and engineer time, which every option adds.

Line itemFivetran StandardAirbyte PlusMatillion
Connections12 x ($5 + 500 x $0.495) = about $3,030 a month, $36,360 a yearIncluded in creditsNot modeled
Transformations40,000 runs: 25,000 x $0.01 + 10,000 x $0.007 = $320 a month, $3,840 a yearNot described on the pages reviewedIncluded in task-hour credits
Platform or creditsNone40 credits at $189 a month, $2,268 a year (vendor's calculator example for 6.64 million rows and 10 GB)Reported $12,000-$24,000 a year for Developer or Teams
Annual list totalAbout $40,200About $2,268$12,000-$24,000 reported; Vendr median across 31 purchases $139,000
After annual-contract discountAbout $38,200 at the 5% floorNone statedNot stated
Multiple of the Airbyte priceAbout 17.7x1.0x5.3x-10.6x at the reported entry plans

The totals are not a ranking. Fivetran counts only rows that changed in a month, while Airbyte's example counts rows synced, and the credit conversion depends on the source type. Matillion's figure is a license cost for a transformation platform that also needs a source of raw data. Fivetran's transformation tier is read as marginal; if the page's rates apply to all runs in a tier, the monthly charge is $280. The point is that the same workload can produce quotes an order of magnitude apart, so a buyer should price the actual row counts, connections and run counts before comparing.

The same pattern at 5, 12 and 40 connections

Connections (500,000 MAR each)Fivetran Standard, connections onlyAirbyte, credits scaled from the vendor exampleMatillion
5 (2.5 million rows a month)$1,262.50 a month, $15,150 a yearStandard: about 15 credits, $70 a month, $840 a yearReported $12,000-$24,000 a year
12 (6 million rows a month)$3,030 a month, $36,360 a yearPlus: 40 credits, $189 a month, $2,268 a yearReported $12,000-$24,000 a year; median $139,000
40 (20 million rows a month)$10,100 a month, $121,200 a yearPlus: 100 credits at $449 plus 20 overage credits at $5, $549 a month, $6,588 a yearReported to start around $100,000 a year on Scale

Fivetran's cost grows in line with connections because each carries a base charge and a separate curve. Airbyte's column assumes credits scale linearly with rows from the vendor's one example, which is an assumption, not a published conversion. Fivetran's rate falls as a connection's volume rises, so heavy connections cost less per row than these figures, and a Fivetran quote for 40 connections should come in below $121,200 if volumes are concentrated in a few of them.

Costs the Pricing Table Misses

Exit and Switching Costs

Complexity Comparison

DimensionFivetranAirbyteMatillion
Implementation timeNot stated on the listing; setup scores 9.0 of 10About 2 months on the listingAbout 3 months on the listing
Ease of useEase of integration and maintenance is the top pro (187 mentions)Ease of use is the top pro (43 mentions)Ease of use is the top pro (9 mentions)
ReliabilitySync issues and unpredictable failures are the top con (60 mentions)Unclear error reporting (6) and alpha connectors (5)Jython slowdowns and single-thread limits (4)
Learning curve for advanced useSteep learning curve requiring technical knowledge (27 mentions)Difficult setup that often needs the data team (7)Feature limitations make template reuse harder (9)
StaffingManaged; no connector servers to runCore is self-run; cloud plans are managedRequires people who write SQL, Python or dbt for custom steps
Documentation and supportResponsive support is a top pro (62 mentions)Poor documentation is the top con (8 mentions); Standard has no SLACommunity support on Developer; standard support and SLA on Teams with annual subscription
Connector coverage700+ managed; new-connector requests are a vendor decision700+ built-in plus builders; some connectors in alpha150+ pre-built; custom connectors through a REST API

Red Flags

Each finding below is sourced and material enough to influence a purchasing decision.

Fivetran

  • The meter makes bills hard to forecast. Each connection is priced on a separate curve with a $5 base charge, and a competitor estimates the per-connection change raised bills by 40%-70% for many teams. That estimate is unconfirmed, but pricing complaints account for 60 mentions (36 high pricing, 24 pricing issues). Model each connection's rows before signing.
  • Reliability is the largest user complaint. Sync issues and unpredictable failures are the top con with 60 mentions. Ask for the failure and alerting terms and run a pilot on your busiest sources.
  • No plan price list. The vendor page gives examples, not rates by plan. Get the per-connection rate curve and the overage multiplier in writing.

Airbyte

  • Support is thin on the entry plan. Standard has portal support with no SLA and hourly syncs; the 24-hour response begins at Plus. Do not run revenue-critical pipelines on Standard without that agreed.
  • Connector quality varies. Reviewers cite alpha connectors (5 mentions), poor documentation (8) and unclear error reporting (6). Check the status of each connector you need.
  • Evidence is thin. About 79 reviews support a 4.4 rating. Ask for references with workloads like yours.

Matillion

  • No public price. The pricing page lists no dollar amounts, and the reported $1,000, $2,000 and $2-$4.40 figures come from forums and aggregators. Get the credit rate, the package size and the overage terms in writing.
  • Costs grow with volume. Reviewers cite cost that rises quickly with data volume and added cost at scale, and the warehouse bill sits on top. Measure warehouse compute in a pilot.
  • Smaller connector set. About 150 pre-built connectors against more than 700 for the others means a second ingestion tool is likely.

The Decision Framework

Choose Fivetran if:

Choose Airbyte if:

Choose Matillion if:

Key Decision Factors

The job decides what you are buying. Fivetran is managed ingestion, now with dbt. Airbyte is open ingestion you can run yourself. Matillion is transformation and orchestration in your warehouse. A team may need two of them.

Audience decides which one fits. Fivetran suits teams that want managed, low-maintenance ingestion and can model a per-connection bill. Airbyte suits teams that want published entry prices, open code and the option to self-host, and can accept thinner reliability evidence. Matillion suits teams that build and orchestrate transformations in their warehouse and will buy credits by quote.

The meter decides the bill, and the Red Flags decide what to ask. The same 12-source, 6-million-row scenario models to about $40,200 a year on Fivetran Standard and about $2,268 on Airbyte Plus, while Matillion's reported entry plans run $12,000-$24,000. The units differ, so price your rows, connections and runs, and treat every blog figure as unconfirmed. Fivetran's top complaint is sync failures, Airbyte's is documentation and connector maturity, and Matillion's is limits and growing cost, so get the rate curve, support terms and exit rights in writing and run a paid pilot on your busiest sources. No product here is perfect: Fivetran trades cost predictability for convenience, Airbyte trades convenience for control, and Matillion trades published pricing for in-warehouse transformation.

The Bottom Line